Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Keywords: Dual table vs single table

Rocky_Barz
Champ on-the-rise
Champ on-the-rise

Hi all,

Newbie here.  I tried searching, but couldn't find anything specifically geared toward my question.  We've got a keyword type that consists of a simple yes/no dropdown.  There is a hot debate going on around the office as to wether we should make it single or dual table.

Conversly, the debate now has spilled over to a "last name" keyword that, obviously, can have a large amount of unique values.  That seems like an obvious single table candidate, but now we aren't sure.  The spectre of doubt has crept in, and we can't seem to hash it out.  Documentation on this issue provided by our third-party vendor was of no help whatsoever.

Any guidance?  Can anyone state the differences between the two in a way that will click in our aching brains?  Thanks in advance for all the help!!

5 REPLIES 5

John_Anderson4
Star Collaborator
Star Collaborator

I'd just go single-table for everything. It's easier all around and there shouldn't be any performance impact.

If you have a lot of repeated values (like YES/NO) then using a dual-table may save some database space, but they should both perform fine.

From what I've heard, it used to make more of a difference, but in the later versions of OnBase single-table has been pretty much recommended for everything.

David_Villapudu
Champ in-the-making
Champ in-the-making

Here is a quote from the SysAdmin MRG version 11.0 from page 786: