cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to retrieve the value in a calculated field on a Unity form in a Unity script?

Corey_Gillingha
Confirmed Champ
Confirmed Champ

I have a calculated field on a Unity form.  I need to retrieve the value in this calculated field in a Unity script.  The SDK states that you can get the value from a calculated field the same way as any other filed on a Unity form (ex:  form.AllFields.ValueFields.Find(MY_VALUE_FIELD).Value).  However, when I try this I get the following error, "Object reference not set to an instance of an object".  I added some code to display all of the fields on the form and I can see all of the fields with the exception of the calculated field.  I am new to Unity scripts and I am likely missing something simple. Any help that you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

5 REPLIES 5

James_Perry
Elite Collaborator
Elite Collaborator
You may need to copy the value to a hidden field on the form and then retrieve that in your script.
No one person needs to know everything—they simply need to know who knows it.

Corey_Gillingha
Confirmed Champ
Confirmed Champ
Thanks Jim! That's actually what I did to make my code work. However, it is odd that the SDK would clearly state that a calculated field could be retrieved the same way as any other field.
Can anyone from Hyland comment on the validity of this statement in the SDK? I have no issue using a hidden field, I would just like to know if there is another way to do this.

I realize this is several years old, but would either of you be willing to share the code you used to do this?  I am attempting to do the same thing following the SDK as you both did, but I hadn't gotten to your snag  yet.  I'm trying to figure out the syntax to pass the current object in as a form to even loop through the fields in the first place.  If willing, my email address is rob.keberdle@thirdfederal.com.  Thanks!