Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Complete OnBase Database Documentation

Brendan_Phommat
Champ in-the-making
Champ in-the-making

Good afternoon,

My name is Brendan and I'm a business intelligence analyst. I'm having trouble finding the full documentation on the OnBase database tables. The MRG I'm using is for Foundation EP2, but it lacks details in regards to a lot of the tables I use.

For example, there's little mention of the 'notetable' and I can't find information for the 'status' field. 

Could someone point in the the right direction to where I could find more information on the database tables?

Thank you!

6 REPLIES 6

Tia_Brott-Silke
Star Contributor
Star Contributor

Did you check the Database Reference Guide?

https://community.hyland.com/gallery/items/71622-database-reporting-guide-onbase-foundation-ep2-modu...

Since this is the reference table for where notes are stored, it should be relatively easy to figure out what most columns are, you can also tell a lot by viewing the data in your flavor of SQL tool (select * in a dev/test environment).

We are Oracle so I used Toad to describe the object. I do wish vendors would include column comments more to help us understand what the various columns are tracking, especially statuses. That's just something you have to learn as you go 😉

I would say the "notable" columns are:

notenum - unique ID for each note

notetitle

notetext

notetypenum = notetype.id

itemnum = itemdata.itemnum aka doc handle

itemtypenum = intemtype.itemtypenum aka the doc type

entrydate = date note created

usernum = useraccount.usernum of user who created the note

Regarding status, in our system the only value is 0, I'm going to venture a guess other statuses would be deleted notes but not sure.

Yup, that's the MRG I was referring to. It seems to only cover a few of the many tables that are actually in the database though. 

The 'notetable' is only one of the many tables I need more info on.