That depends what you want to modify. From what I see, share only has access to site document library (that is companyhome/Sites/sitename/documentLibrary in /alfresco) and user home by default. And when I change things from /alfresco (ie. add a space to docLib, copy/move/delete files around or something), it reflects in share and the other way around.
What specific changes you're trying to do?